The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International

The Epsilon State Organization of Delta Kappa Gamma was organized by Dr. Annie Webb Blanton at the Heidelberg Hotel in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, on March 17, 1934. Louisiana was the fifth state organized.

The Epsilon Founders included: Ellen LeNoir, Helen M. Carter, and Harriet S. Daggett of Louisiana State University; Agnes Edwards and Grace Bordelon Agate of Southwestern Louisiana Institute; May A. Allen, Virginia Cooper, Ruby V. Perry, and Emery C. Lively of New Orleans; Maureine Williams of Alexandria; and Sarah LC. Clapp and Catherine Winters of Louisiana State Normal College.

Dr. Blanton installed Epsilon State’s first state officers: President, Grace Bordelon Agate; First Vice President, Ruby V. Perry; Second Vice President, Ellen LeNoir; Recording Secretary, Catherine Winters; Treasurer, Agnes Edwards; Keeper of the Records, Sarah L.C. Clapp; and Parliamentarian, Harriet S. Daggett.

The first state meeting was held on the final day of the Louisiana Teachers Association Convention on November 24, 1934, at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge. In the dining room of the Home Economics Department, the following were initiated as members of the state organization: Eleanor Blatterman, Mamie Bowman, Esther Cooley, May Lee Denham, Hazel Coxe, Mary Dingle, Hulda Erath, Bertha Ferguson, Margaret Herdsman, Marie Hester, Martha Hollinger, George Huff, Mary Johnson, Ruth Kean, Agatha LaCroix, Lillian A. McCook, Muriel McCulla, Corinne Statler, Gladys Tappan, Mary Thornton, and Metella Williams. Louise Garig and Ruth Girard were installed in Miss Garig’s bedroom, due to a fall and the misfortune of a broken hip. A few months later, Miss Garig passed away.

The first chapter, Alpha, was installed on February 15, 1935. Members were primarily from the Lafayette, Abbeville, New Iberia, and Jeanerette area. Beta Chapter was organized in Rapides parish on February 1, 1936. The Louisiana State membership now has over 2000 members.